Home > From Steve's desk > Hello world!

Hello world!

Hello world. Err ya. Hi.

Categories: From Steve's desk
  1. Steven mosher
    June 18, 2009 at 10:23 PM

    test comment

  2. PolyisTCOandbanned
    August 18, 2010 at 7:28 AM

    We can never defend the surface record. Thos skeptics will find us out. Head for the ice!😉

    • Steven Mosher
      August 18, 2010 at 7:45 PM

      TCO, while I’m laying the code down please keep your pants on. It scares the animals, women and children

  3. PolyisTCOandbanned
    August 18, 2010 at 9:35 PM

    Go paint the rock.

    • Steven Mosher
      August 18, 2010 at 11:02 PM

      Dude you have no idea how fun that is. I spent many a night painting that thing purple.
      you know Tobias went there as well.

      learn R

  4. max
    August 19, 2010 at 1:27 AM

    ugh, Mosh could you please do something so one can easily get to the first (MoshTemp101) and read down through the rest instead of the most recent? Perhaps a sidebar? I know it is traditional in blogs to put the most recent first and the oldest last, but since you are posting these pretty fast and they are laying-the-groundwork sort of posts building to each upon the past it might be better to organize them easier to read from oldest to most recent (at least for these groundwork posts).

    • Steven Mosher
      August 19, 2010 at 3:02 AM

      Let me see what I can do. I hate blogging. I want to rewrite this whole mess of an interface

  5. j ferguson
    August 19, 2010 at 3:09 AM

    Shouldn’t you have means for complaining to management directly? Non-posted correspondence?

    • Steven Mosher
      August 19, 2010 at 3:11 AM

      My first love was pascal so I’m used to reading programs from end to begininng

  6. j ferguson
    August 19, 2010 at 3:10 AM

    Ok, you’re moderating – good. don’t post.

    • Steven Mosher
      August 19, 2010 at 3:24 AM

      I’m gunna turn moderation off if I can find the damn switch

  7. j ferguson
    August 19, 2010 at 5:43 AM

    One of my apprehensions about asking a question of someone who is likely to have an answer is whether the question is worthy of the time it takes, is of interest to anyone but me, reflects my failure to do the most basic homework, is plain stupid, or by some chance is one of those issues that might have some importance but is impractical to resolve – like unrecognized or maybe simply unquantified bias in thermometer readings.

    I can see how you could get a feel for possible magnitude of a bias by looking at lots of records, but when it comes down to a few such as the Nepal 19 out of 50, it looks a little murkier. Rejecting incomplete series because they are incoplete certainly doesn’t require knowledge of the sites. That’s ok. But rejecting one site because the readings didn’t go up like all the others seems a little more troublesome. It looks like there’s a lot of this sort of rejection in the climatology business – doesn’t look like the rest so must be no good.

    Without proposing at least an idea as why that Nepal site didn’t do what the others did seems a bit careless to me. Consensus of 19 sites, achieved by ignoring a couple that didn’t agree? Really.

    These guys didn’t qualify their sites much. They must have assumed that they were ok. My guess is that most of this analysis is done from existing time series and in comfortable places in the US and the quality of the data is assumed or statistically savored for consistency.

    But that’s not the same as finding out that all the sites in Nepal except one were put up by the same guy and share a daytime reflectance problem which has been exacerbated by recent reduction of cloud cover for other reasons.

    So maybe you can make sweeping inferences based on records of lots of thermometers, but I still choke on concluding anything from 19 that you haven’t seen.

    Hell, Steve, even the gal Marissa Tomei played in Cousin Vinny knew her torque wrench needed to be calibrated. And she was just fixing a dripping faucet.

    Maybe the WMO qualifies sites. I know Anthony is working on this, but….

    It could be that all this stuff I’ve written isn’t the sort of thing you want to do here, and if so, it’s ok, just say so. I’ll take it back to Lucia’s but my suspicion is that my concerns fail to interest anyone there because of one or more of the problems I suggested in my first sentence.

    And then maybe this all is obvious to everyone except me.

    • Steven Mosher
      August 19, 2010 at 12:32 PM

      j. no problem. I’m not sure there is a question in there. My position is pretty methodical. I’m building a calculator.
      if one woman lies and tells me she is 29 and other woman lies and says shes 39, I don’t care. I care that my calculator gives me
      62 as the answer. That’s the question on the table today. LATER, we can discuss the veracity of the source.

      WRT nepal? if I cooled all of nepal it wouldn’t matter. So we need to find SYSTEMATIC issues. We won’t. At best systematic issues cold be a 1/10
      if that.

  8. j ferguson
    August 19, 2010 at 2:58 PM

    Building a calculator is pretty good. I can understand that. let’s leave the source veracities to a time when we can discover and quantify the 1/10ths

    • Steven Mosher
      August 19, 2010 at 9:01 PM

      Yes with a good calculator I can test the IMPORTANCE of this question even without knowing the exact answer.

  9. Rui Sousa
    August 22, 2010 at 4:57 PM

    This is a great initiative!!!

    I am wroking on something similar, but with SQL Server 2008 and C#, I know this blog will be a valuable source of information.

    I hope we can exchange experiences soon.

    • Steven Mosher
      August 22, 2010 at 9:09 PM

      Thx. If you have any questions just ask

  10. August 29, 2010 at 6:33 AM

    Steve, Mazeltov on the new blog (although I’m somewhat statistically challenged, so I doubt that I’ll have much to contribute!) … but I did notice over at Lucia’s that you’ve been trying to incorporate a Blogroll here. This, I can help with🙂

    To get your Blogroll Links to appear in the “sidebar”, from your “Dashboard”, select “Widgets” from the “Appearance” group, then drag the “Links” button (or facsimile thereof) to the sidebar.

    And if you want to add a plug for the book, you can do this by using an image widget and/or a text widget (the latter will take html, not sure about the former)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

